Erika Brewington’s Blog



Twitter Update

I have really began to enjoy using twitter throughout this semester. Although I wasn’t too crazy about the idea at first, I will admit that its hard to resist getting on my blackberry during class, on the way to class, while I’m studying, when I should be asleep-well you get the point-to check my twitter updates. I have grown with the craze of twitter, and I love turning on the TV and seeing how popular it is everywhere and thinking, “wow, and this started as a PR assignment for me.” You can find me on twitter @erikabrewington

My second experience with twitter was definitely a lot smoother than the first! I didn’t really have any questions about how to use my account, and I think this had a lot to do with why I enjoy it so much more. It was hard to get the hang of things the first time around, but I’ve overcome my twitter anxiety and I will certainly continue to use it.

Twitter is a social media networking service that I wouldn’t be familiar with at all, if it were not for my Public Relations professor. She introduced us to the service in class, and actually made an assignment out of it by having us create and use our own personal account. I think it’s safe to say I’ve never done anything like this for class before, but I can already see the benefits I am receiving from twitter. It has connected me with my class mates, professors, and PR professionals, which will be very helpful in the near future. I am very surprised that twitter has been so beneficial to me and I will continue to use it for my networking purposes.

One thing I would like to become more familiar with as I continue using twitter, is the different applications you can upload to your twitter account. There are so many and I would like to learn more about them.

While using twitter, I have managed to find very interesting people with a lot of helpful information redarding the PR, marketing, and mass media profession.

  1. Scott Stratten is a virtual marketing “Jedi” as he refers to himself. He has made 60 online movies and combined, they have pulled in over 60 million views. He knows exactly how to target an audience! Find him on twitter @unmarketing
  2. Alisa Agozzino is a PR Professor at Ohio Northern University. She is a social media lover, and often has information regarding the PR industry twitter updates, which are usually interesting and beneficial to anyone interested in PR. Find her on twitter @alisaagozzino
  3. Mark Ragan is the CEO of Ragan Comms and the creator of MyRagan.com from Chicago. He often has information regarding social media on his twitter that will benefit every student studying communications. Find him on twitter @MarkRaganCEO

Interested in twitter? You can create your own account at twitter.com

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cinnamon Cameron says:

    Erika– I am glad that you are enjoying Twitter! As you can see, it can be a very useful tool, and its use is growing rapidly! On a recent trip to Mississippi, it was very interesting because all of the news channels used Twitter and encouraged their viewers to follow them for news updates! Keep up the good work on your blogs!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * happymccullough says:

    Erika, I feel the same as you. Twitter was so unusual to me at first, but now that I’ve gotten the hang of it and seen how popular it has become, I’m a little bit addicted. I love checking my twitter to see what people have to say, because they always have something to say. I’m going to follow the people you suggested- they sound interesting!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

